Table of Contents

Delete Records

Danielle Kellogg Updated by Danielle Kellogg

You can delete records from your app from both the Knack Builder or directly from your Live App. In the Builder, you can manually select specific records to delete, run a batch delete or clear all records from the object. You can also give your users the ability to delete individual records by adding delete links to views in the Live App. 

Delete Records in the Live App

When building your app’s pages in the Builder, you can allow users to delete records from any view that displays records by adding a delete link. Currently, only individual records can be deleted from the interface one at a time.

Table, Search, List, and Details Views

To add a delete link to a table, search, list or details view, select the “pen” icon on the page preview to open the toolbox to edit the view.  In the toolbox, select the “Build” option and then the “Actions” button to reveal action links available to add to your view.

While viewing the “Actions” section, choose the “Delete record” option. This will add a new link to your view allowing your users to delete individual records.

Map Views

Delete links can be added to the location list in a map view. To add the delete link, open the toolbox to edit the view by clicking the pen icon on the view in the page preview. In the toolbox choose the “Location List” option, there you can select the “Actions” button to add a delete link to the map location list in your Live App. 

Calendar Views

Delete links can be added to the individual event details on a calendar view. To add a delete link to a calendar view, open the toolbox to edit the calendar view by clicking the pen icon on the view in the page preview. In the toolbox choose the “Event Details” option, there you can select the “Actions” button to add a delete link to individual event details in your Live App. 

Delete Records in the Builder

From the Builder, you can delete records in one of three ways. Records can be deleted by either manually selecting specific records with checkboxes, running a batch delete with filters, or by clearing all records from the object. 

All three delete options are available when viewing records for a specific object in the Records section of the Builder.

Deleting Selected Records

When viewing an object’s records in the Records section of the Builder, you can delete a selection of records by using the checkboxes next to the individual records.

Once you have selected your records, use the “Delete” button in the top navigation. 

Warning: this will automatically delete all records that you have selected.

Batch Delete Records

You can also delete records in batches based on set criteria by clicking on the Delete option in the Records view and selecting the Batch Delete option from the dropdown:

When batch deleting records, you can add filters that will determine exactly which records will be deleted.

Clear All Records

When viewing the records for an object in the Records section of the Builder, you can delete all records from that object by clicking the “Delete” button then “Clear All Records” from the dropdown.

After clicking “Clear All Records” you will be prompted to confirm before deleting all records.

Warning: this will delete all records for this object. Once "Clear Records" is clicked, this cannot be undone.

How did we do?

CSV Format Guide for Importing

Import Records

Contact