This article will discuss what Shared Builders are and how to add Shared Builders to your Knack app(s).
What is a Shared Builder?
A Shared Builder is a user who is granted access to the Knack Builder for a specific app. Each plan provides a designated number of shared builders that are allowed on an account.
These Shared Builders are added to individual apps rather than an entire Knack account.
These users will be able to fully edit the app shared with them including adding, editing, and deleting elements from both the Data and Pages section of the Knack Builder. However, Shared Builders won't be able to access other apps or settings on your account, delete your app, or add new apps.
Each plan offers a certain number of shared builders allowed on an account which includes the account owner. Each email address added as a shared builder will be counted as a single shared builder.
Note that you can add the same email address to multiple apps as a shared builder without it affecting your shared builder count (they will still count as one shared builder against your limit).
Tip: You can read more about the shared builders and how many your plan allows here.
During the trial period, shared builders are not available.
Adding Shared Builders
A Shared Builder can be added to an app by selecting More Options: Manage Builders in the Dashboard to the right of the app's name.
Selecting "Manage Builders" will open a modal popup prompting for the First and Last Name and Email Address to share the app with:
A confirmation message will appear upon success:
Once added, the Shared Builder will receive an email with a link to your app. If the Shared Builder does not have a Knack account, they will be prompted to set up a password to log into Knack.
Caution: When working with Shared Builders, it is possible to unintentionally overwrite changes that have been made by others. We recommend being mindful of where other shared builders are working in the Builder.
Viewing and Removing Shared Builders
To view Shared Builders on an app, select "Manage Builders" from the "More Options" icon in the Dashboard.
This will open a modal popup where you can view, add, and remove Shared Builders.
Overwriting Changes Made in the Live App or Builder
If multiple users are making changes to your app, it is possible to overwrite changes that other users have made both in the Knack Builder and in the Live App.
As such, we strongly encourage the following:
All Knack Builders have one browser window or tab open while working on data changes in the Builder. Otherwise, if you or another shared builder on that app have an older version of the Data open and save changes there, it can overwrite the updates you just made.
In the Live App, we encourage creating a workflow or process to limit the number of users that might need to edit the same record at any one time.